Chairman

Jeffery Schielke Mayor City of Batavia

Vice Chairman

John Skillman President Village of Carpentersville

CMAP Committee

Representatives

Chris Lauzen Kane County Chairman MPO Policy Committee

Scott Gryder Kendall County Chairman MPO Policy Committee

Jeffery Schielke Council of Mayors Executive Committee Chair

MPO Policy Committee

Matthew Brolley CMAP Board

Municipal Members Village of Algonquin City of Aurora Village of Big Rock Village of Burlington Village of Campton Hills Village of East Dundee Village of Elburn City of Elgin City of Geneva Village of Gilberts Village of Hampshire Village of Huntley Village of Kaneville Village of Lily Lake Village of Lisbon Village of Maple Park Village of Millbrook Village of Millington Village of Montgomery Village of Newark Village of North Aurora Village of Oswego

Village of Pingree Grove

City of Plano

Village of Plattville

City of Sandwich Village of Sleepy Hollow Village of South Elgin City of St. Charles Village of Sugar Grove Village of Virgil Village of Wayne Village of West Dundee

City of Yorkville County Members

> Kane County Kendall County



COUNCIL STAFF

Thomas B. Rickert Executive Director

Jacqueline L. Forbes Council Director

Ryan D. Peterson Planning Liaison Troy M. Simpson Planning Liaison

DATE: June 16, 2020

TO: KKCOM Full Council

FROM: Council Staff

RE: FY21 Planning Liaison Services

The Kane Kendall Council of Mayors receives federal transportation planning funds to perform various planning and programming activities for Kane County and Kendall County. The Chicago Metropolitan Agency for Planning (CMAP) directs these funds to the Kane County Division of Transportation in order that Kane County may continue to provide transportation planning staff to the Kane Kendall Council of Mayors for regional coordination and planning activities.

Primary staff for the Council of Mayors includes: Tom Rickert - Executive Director Jackie Forbes – Council Director, Ride in Kane Manager Troy Simpson – Regional Planning Liaison Ryan Peterson - Regional Planning Liaison, Bicycle and Pedestrian Planner

KKCOM regional planning staff facilitates strategic participation by local officials in the region's transportation process as required by the FAST Act and the Regional Planning Act. Staff also supports the Council of Mayors by providing STP and CMAQ program development and monitoring, general liaison services, technical assistance and communications assistance.

An agreement will be executed with the Chicago Metropolitan Agency for Planning for the FY2021 Planning Liaison Scope of Services. It is anticipated that Kane County will receive a similar amount to last year's total funding of \$253,564.44.

Staff recommends Council approval authorizing the Council Chairman to execute a resolution re-allocating the Fiscal Year 2021 Federal Transportation Planning Funds to the Kane County Division of Transportation to provide Professional Staff Assistance to the Kane Kendall Council of Mayors.

Kane Kendall Council of Mayors

RESOLUTION # 061920-01

A Resolution of Intent and Concurrence Regarding the Disposition of Federal Transportation Funds and Professional Staff Assistance to the Kane Kendall Council of Mayors

WHEREAS, the Kane Kendall Council of Mayors are duly elected local officials as defined in the Federal Highway Acts of 1970, 1973, and 1976, the Surface Transportation Assistance Acts of 1978, 1982, 1987, the Intermodal Surface Transportation Efficiency Act of 1991, the Transportation Equity Act for the 21st Century, the Safe, Accountable, Flexible, Efficient, Transportation Equity Act: A Legacy for Users, the Moving Ahead for Progress in the 21st Century Act, the Fixing America's Surface Transportation Act and represents thirty-six municipalities in Kane and Kendall County; and

WHEREAS, the Kane Kendall Council of Mayors receives federal transportation funds to support planning staff, to provide effective liaison with the various regional transportation agencies, to provide professional technical assistance to local units of government and to the Counties of Kane and Kendall, to develop and administer the Surface Transportation Program, and to perform transportation planning activities; and

WHEREAS, the Kane Kendall Council of Mayors is desirous of continuing to receive professional staff assistance and requests that the County of Kane and through the Kane County Division of Transportation retain a transportation planning professional to provide said assistance:

NOW, THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED that the Kane Kendall Council of Mayors agrees to the following regarding professional staff assistance and disposition of the Council's Federal Transportation Planning Funds:

- 1. The Kane Kendall Council of Mayors hereby agrees that it is in the best interest and mutually advantageous to retain professional transportation planning staff to provide assistance to both the Kane Kendall Council of Mayors and the Kane County Division of Transportation.
- 2. The Kane Kendall Council of Mayors hereby re-allocates their Fiscal Year 2021 Federal Transportation Planning Funds and makes said funds available to the Kane County Division of Transportation to be used to retain professional transportation planning staff to provide technical, liaison and administrative assistance to the Kane Kendall Council of Mayors and the Kane County Division of Transportation.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Kane Kendall Council of Mayors hereby approves the FY2021 Planning Liaison Scope of Services as approved by the Council of Mayors Executive Committee.

APPROVED AND ADOPTED THIS 19TH DAY OF JUNE, 2020

Jeffery D. Schielke Chairman, Kane Kendall Council of Mayors